***WARNING – SPOILERS AND GRAPHIC CONTENT AHEAD***

Here it is, the best deaths in Game Of Thrones. I ranked it on how important a death it was to the show and also how satisfied I was when I saw them struggle to take another breath, choking on that poison that they drank and that is what they got for being a absolute… Woah, you see, this is what GoT does to you.

RULES

  • Worth pointing out that these are the best deaths of MAIN CHARACTERS. There are some amazing sequences where many people die but they are not main characters so, for example the battle with the White Walkers is not included in this list because no major character dies
  • The characters included in this list – must have their deaths shown ON SCREEN. Not just leaving it for the audience to assume
  • This takes SEASON 1 – 6 in consideration, anything that happens in Season 7 is not mentioned.

15] GRAND MAESTER PYCELLE ; “THE WINDS OF WINTER” (SEASON 6, EPISODE 10)

WHO I HEAR YOU ASK? Well, I would be lying if I said I remembered what exactly this guy does but his death was simply disturbing. He got stabbed by loads of kids, what a horrible way to die and must be given a mention for effort.

14] TYWIN LANNISTER ; “THE CHILDREN” (SEASON 4, EPISODE 10)

It is what he gets for the way he treated Tyrion. You shoot him Tyrion, shoot him again. Especially after he took Shae, kill him!

13] RENLY BARATHEON ; “THE GHOST OF HARRENHAL” (SEASON 2, EPISODE 5) 

AND SHIREEN BARATHEON ; “THE DANCE OF DRAGONS” (SEASON 5 EPISODE 6)

This two are by far the most messed up, and that is why they share the thirteenth spot. These are lower because it is not one of the best deaths, but it is definitely worth a mention. Both deaths impact the show, and Shireen’s death makes a case for the most emotional death (but loses to Hodor). But both of these deaths have to be considered for most messed up, with Renly – winning. A DEMON BABY?!?!!?

12] VISERYS TARGARYEN ; “A GOLDEN CROWN” (SEASON 1, EPISODE 6)

I put this on the list because it was the first indication of what was to come. The way it happened, I could not have imagined and it set an example for what was to come. The death shocked me in the moment.

11] TOMMEN BARATHEON ; “THE WINDS OF WINTER” (SEASON 6, EPISODE 10)

This is eleventh just because I was NOT expecting it, the way he just jumped out the window was jokes. I actually died with laughter. Just watching that gif (with a J) over and over again makes me laugh.

10] STANNIS BARATHEON ; “MOTHER’S MERCY” (SEASON 5, EPISODE 10)

HIS DEATH WAS SO SATISFYING, what made it better was his admission of guilt. Demanding Brienne complete her duty and kill him. What I find interesting is that, most of the deaths in this list are from the Baratheon family.

9] MARGAERY TYRELL, HIGH SPARROW & MANY OTHERS ; “THE WINDS OF WINTER” (SEASON 6, EPISODE 10)

It is lower down because we didn’t get to see it up and close. It was an amazing set piece but we are not judging set-pieces, we are judging deaths. But, nevertheless, Margaery Tyrell was among many others that died and that makes it an impact death.

8] OBERYN MARTELL ; “THE MOUNTAIN AND THE VIPER” (SEASON 4, EPISODE 8)

The only reason he is on this list is because of how he died. I didn’t really care for him. The gore was fantastic but it would be a lot higher if it was someone that I actually cared about that died. That being said, they were fighting for Tyrion which made me care. But, it is the gore and the way he died that is the reason he is on this list. Look at that gif MAN. LOOK AT IT.

7] WALDER FREY ; “THE WINDS OF WINTER” (SEASON 6, EPISODE 10)

Finally Arya got her revenge. This was probably the sweetest one on the list. The Red Wedding was finally avenged and it was fantastic. I hated Walder Frey, he is the one that caused the Red Wedding, inviting them all to diner and then killing them all. This was so satisfying.

6] THE HOUND ; “MOCKINGBIRD” (SEASON 4, EPISODE 7)

Another great death, that actually pulled on my heart strings. The way that Arya left him to die was fantastic and it showed how popular the Hound was. That fight between him and Brienne was fantastic.

6] RAMSAY BOLTON ; “BATTLE OF THE BASTARDS” (SEASON 6, EPISODE 9)

I hated his guy. He wasn’t a villain I loved to hate but I liked him earlier on, when he was with Reek not so much when he was with Sansa. What a horrible way to die, but then again – a horrible death for a horrible person, and straight after the Battle of the Bastards and by Sansa.

5] HODOR ; “THE DOOR” (SEASON 6, EPISODE 5)

I won’t hear anything else. THIS IS THE MOST EMOTIONAL DEATH, I actually get upset just thinking about it now. JUST HOLD THE DOOR, HOLD THE DOOR. ALL STUPID BRAN’S FAULT. Honestly, please, please, please kill Bran – I really hate that guy, it is all his fault Hodor died.

4] JOFFREY BARATHEON ; “THE LION AND THE ROSE” (SEASON 4, EPISODE 2)


FINALLY! The only villian’s death that is sweeter than Ramsay’s is the ORIGINAL BADDIE – Joffrey. I loved watching him choke and I was so happy that he died. I mean that scene when he was on his deathbed was a BIT WEIRD. But at least he died, and the way it was Olenna was just the icing on the cake. Does this not bring you so much joy,

3] JON SNOW ; “MOTHER’S MERCY” (SEASON 5, EPISODE 10)

Alright, alright. He is technically alive, but Jon Snow  did die, so he is eligible for this list. And, boy ‘o’ boy what a death it was. I am just going to say, I want Ollie to choke on ice. I hate that guy more than I hate Bran. But, hey, at least it meant that it finally freed Jon of The Wall.

2] CATELYN, ROBB, TALISA STARK & STARK BANNERMEN  ; “THE RAINS OF CASTAMERE” (SEASON 3, EPISODE 9)

WOAH. This was the biggest shock, it caused trauma, it caused anger, I actually could not believe it. I thought, maybe – just maybe, one will survive, but no. What is funny, is that I never watched it straight away, and I was still able to have no idea about any Red Wedding. No-one spoiled it for me, so when I watched it – I was confused why there wasn’t any buzz around it. What made it even better was Arya was outside, metres away from her mother just as she was when…

1] EDDARD ‘NED’ STARK ; “BAELOR” (SEASON 1, EPISODE 9)

Her father died. This had to be number one, it was the one THAT STARTED IT ALL. It was such a fantastic move and I have to congratulate HBO. Because – WOW, I was not expecting that AT ALL.

I know I missed a few but I wanted to try and keep it short and sweet.

AZ

Leave a Reply

